Apple – what do I think about them?

Apple is a good company. They make some really neat stuff. It’s neat, but not always too useful for every consumer. The only thing that I can say I really like from Apple, is just the iPod, and a few OS X programs, PhotoBooth and iChat. That’s it. That’s all I would ever care about from Apple. Their macs are nice, but I prefer Sony Vaios more. OS X, is ok to me. I don’t really like it. I’ve worked with it serveral times, and I just don’t really like it overall. The mac hardware is really nice I should say. iTunes is absolutely horrible. There’s just too much going on in the UI. It has tons of great content, but with a horrible UI, it’s a really big turndown. Many of their products have great design, but don’t have many functions if you compare it to others. It’s partly because they try to "simply" everythinng, that you lose some stuff too.

As a company, I don’t like them at all. They always make fun of Microsoft, and to most people, bashing your competitors constantly (ie. "Get a mac" commercials, banners making fun of Vista at their conferences), is really not cool in the long end. At first, even I thought they were funny, but enough is enough. If you’re products are good, then you don’t need to show fear by making fun of someone. It’s called being a bully. Plus, sometimes they kind of lie, or don’t tell the whole truth in their "Get a mac" ads. Plus trying to display a snobby, superior, "I’m better than you", attitude really wants me to throw something at them.

Then there are the lovers (fanboys) of this company. Most of them I would say are arrogant, conceited, think-they-are-better-than-anyone-else-because-my-product-has-a-apple-logo, are what you see most of the times in the comments of apple/MS posts these days. Now not all of them do that, but a overwhelming majority do. It sometimes makes me wonder if they’re just astroturfers from Apple, cosidering that macs take only 3% of the world’s computers, yet there seems to be tons on I-love-Apple comments. Microsoft lovers (like me) are usually open-minded, good debaters, and love a variety of technology from tons of companies, but their preferences with Microsoft. That’s it. You don’t see a true Microsoft fanatic, not because MS just doesn’t have what it takes, but only because we’re better that way.

That’s what I wanted to share about my views on Apple.

Leave a Reply

