Why would anyone like IE7?

Well, here’s some news for avid Firefox/Opera/Safari users.

                                                                    

I like IE7. It works. No viruses or anything bad has ever crossed into my system (running XP SP2). The UI is quite simple enough.

That’s at least the gist of it. You can probably say the same for your other favorite browsers too, but here’s some of the main reasons why I prefer IE7 a lot (NOTE: I’ll do a lot of comparisons against the top alternative – Firefox):

  1. It’s VERY secure – Believe it or not, IE7 is currently the most secure browser out there. How is it IE7 more secure? Well unlike Firefox who depends more on marketshare for security, IE7 actually has built-in security measures. Things like anti-phishing, pop-up blockers, Vista protect mode, better ActiveX security, and other little features. Ed Bott claims that IE7 and FF are both equally secure. Computerworld (beware of pop-ups if you have no pop-up blocker) says that IE7 is also much more secure. I remember reading sometime in mid-2007 that IE7 was much more secure than Firefox. I have a hard time finding something more reliable to read off of.
  2. Better RSS reader – no doubt about it. The feeds in IE7 actually display a lot of info on new blog entries, including the title, the post itself, and you even search from within the feeds. Firefox only displays the title. Lifehacker agrees.
  3. More compatible with sites – This is true. IE is still very compatible with sites, and I appreciate that. Other browsers face the fact that sites won’t work on their browser sometimes.
  4. Speedy – compared to Firefox, IE7 is definitely speedy. Here’s my rank on fast browsers: Opera > IE7 > Safari > Firefox.
  5. Not a memory hog – You can’t say the same for Firefox 🙂
  6. Better tabbed browsing – IE7 takes tabs much more further than Firefox. You can do more with tabs in one click, while Firefox takes more mouse movements. There’s also Quick Tabs – viewing a small "snapshot" of all your tabs. PLUS, many tabs on Firefox really slows the browser down (hence the Memory Hog reference). IE7 still manages many tabs without a hitch.
  7. Tons of add-ons – Yeah, there’s actually add-ons for IE7. Free to paid. Good to bad. It’s there.
  8. Looks quite nice (in Vista) – On XP, it looks rather tacky. But with AERO effects, IE7 is actually a pretty awesome looking browser. If you use AERO. Otherwise you get the "beige" treatment.
  9. Full screen mode is awesome – the button on the toolbar, at the very far right, lets you view website in full screen, without seeing the browser itself or the Windows taskbar. Very helpful.
  10. Zoom controls do better precision – on Firefox, the zoom happens in the top right. On IE7, the zoom starts around where your mouse is. The parameters for zooming in IE7 are also much more wider, than the ones for FF. Meaning you can see things down to a pixel on IE7. Or as small as the site can be.

That’s the most I can think of. There’s probably more, but I’m not thinking much right now.

                                                                   

If you have IE7, I suggest you download IE7 Pro. IE7 Pro is an add-on that includes a ton of extra features that you can get in one package, including inline spell check, Tab History, adBlocker, and basically stuff that IE7 should contain. I’ve used it for a long time, and it’s free, and there’s been no problems on my computer using it. It’s super helpful. Give it a try:

http://ie7pro.com/

So there you are. You might disagree with some of my opinions, but as far as I know, IE7 has worked for me, and it’s working for the 124 million users who have been using it since September. I love IE7.

Get IE7 : http://www.microsoft.com/windows/downloads/ie/getitnow.mspx

Also check out Firefox myths : http://firefoxmyths.com/ – this site gives some real factual info. on the Firefox people think is so better.

Here’s my rating for the top 4 browsers:

IE7 > Opera > Firefox > Safari

I hope this article is helpful.

20 thoughts on “Why would anyone like IE7?

  1. Nice article. I currently have both IE7 (I have Vista) and FF, but I use FF just for testing and other stuff to get around sites used to IE. I prefer IE far much more than FF because of most of the reasons listed here, and it\’s also a lot more visually appealing, which is always nice. I\’ve never really considered downloading IE Pro, although everyone talks about it, but I guess I\’ll go ahead and check it out.

  2. Thanks Albert.
     
    I can\’t imagine IE7 without IE7 Pro! It\’s essentially the only main reason why anybody should still stick with IE7 – IE7 Pro has some of the same features as FF. So without that add-on for IE7, I might as well just use FF.
     
    Give it a try sometime.

  3. First of all it\’s Fx not FF.. idiot.  "IE7 is currently the most secure browser out
    there" [most definitely not true.]"unlike Firefox who depends more
    on marketshare for security" [explain.]"Things like anti-phishing" incl. in Fx, "pop-up blockers," [incl. in Fx], "Vista protect
    mode" wtf is that bullsh!t? "better ActiveX security" [Fx doesn\’t need better activeX security as it is IMMUNE to any ActiveX attack]"Better RSS reader
    – no doubt about it. The feeds in IE7 actually display a lot of info on
    new blog entries, including the title, the post itself, and you even
    search from within the feeds. Firefox only displays the title. Lifehacker agrees." [there are awesome addons that beat the living crap out of IE7\’s bullsh!t reader.] "More compatible with sites
    – This is true. IE is still very compatible with sites, and I
    appreciate that. Other browsers face the fact that sites won\’t work on
    their browser sometimes."  [more and more websites are going towards the Fx side, and say openly that they work best with Fx] "Not a memory hog – You can\’t say the same for Firefox :)" [you can set Fx to limit its memory usage] "Better tabbed browsing
    – IE7 takes tabs much more further than Firefox. You can do more with
    tabs in one click, while Firefox takes more mouse movements. There\’s
    also Quick Tabs – viewing a small "snapshot" of all your tabs. PLUS,
    many tabs on Firefox really slows the browser down (hence the Memory
    Hog reference). IE7 still manages many tabs without a hitch." [you WISH that was true.  the main reason I hate IE7 is its poor tabbing features.  slow opening, terrible stuff] Tons of add-ons – Yeah, there\’s actually add-ons for IE7. Free to paid. Good to bad. It\’s there.[way less than Fx\’s addons, which are all free and way better than the crap you linked.  Trust me, I tried them.] Looks quite nice (in Vista)
    – On XP, it looks rather tacky. But with AERO effects, IE7 is actually
    a pretty awesome looking browser. If you use AERO. Otherwise you get
    the "beige" treatment. [Fx looks awesome with skins, which you can\’t get for IE7] "Full screen mode is awesome
    – the button on the toolbar, at the very far right, lets you view
    website in full screen, without seeing the browser itself or the
    Windows taskbar. Very helpful." [Fx\’s fullscren is better] There, you dumbass MS fanboy, the facts are right there.

  4. @wox : Does it matter if it\’s FF or Fx? I use FF because other people seem to do that, except you.
     
    It is true, IE7 is the most currently secure browser out there. I gave you several links. Go do a web search if you don\’t believe me. It happened between spring and summer 07\’ when news sites said that.
     
    RSS feeds – so FF depends on 3rd party stuff, instead of what\’s included in itself? I definitely want a browser with little features as possible.
     
    Many FF users acknowledge about the memory hog it is, and it\’s a common complaint, which might be fixed in FF 3.
     
    Tabs do work better. Why do editors who review web browsers, cite that IE7 does indeed do better browsing?
     
    All free for FF? Are you sure? If I searched right now, I bet I can find an add-on that cost something. There\’s ton of add-ons for IE7 that might not even be on that site. Care to give me exact numbers of add-ons?
     
    You can download IE7 SkinMaker 2.5, works just as great, and does a real neat job.
     
    Full screen mode does practically the same in both! I just use IE7 so much, it feels better to me.
     
    YOU\’RE NOT STATING ANY FACTS, dude. You\’re making assertions without proof. Most of that is just your thoughts.
     
    You give me real numbers, real statistics, real links with credible info. and then I\’ll believe you. Even then, I don\’t care. IE7 is still by far the best. All of what you said is nonsense, and if you can\’t answer my questions, then you\’re probably wrong. If you refuse to, you probably can\’t. So there.

  5. Oh wow.  Deleting comments.  Trying to cover the fact that I stated real facts and that I answered your questions.  Trying to cover that you are the one who can\’t face the truth.  Yeah, good job.  IE7 is the best.  Keep telling yourself that.SIGH..

  6. @wox : it was an accident. Repost them if you want. I was trying to reply to them, but I accidentally deleted your latest comments by mistake.
     
    So repost them. I\’m still valid in many of my points.

  7. "It was an accident" "So repost them"Oh wow.. so I have to re-type all that?  No way.  Here are some stuff I can post right now.All free addons (tell me when you find an addon that\’s not free): https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/Reviews-http://www.webware.com/8301-13546_109-9729691-29.htmlhttp://www.pcworld.com/article/id,131935-page,5-c,systems/article.htmlhttp://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,2047961,00.asphttp://reviews.cnet.com/browsers/firefox-2/4505-3514_7-32126746.htmlhttp://www.pcworld.com/article/id,125706-page,1/article.html?tk=pr_top100_06&findid=53822Those are called REPUTABLE sources.  At least you know what that means?

  8. Okay.. I\’m not going to argue with you anymore, since you are one big IE/Ms fanboy and you\’re not going to change your mind.That doesn\’t mean I admit defeat; Fx still beats the living crap out of IE (any version).It\’s just that you need to spend some time customizing it and adding addons.  That\’s what Fx is all about: it doesn\’t include everything, so you get a choice of what you want.  IE just packs all the crap in one.

  9. @wox.
     
    Good for you. I don\’t like this arguement.
     
    My point is, is that they\’re both good, ok?
     
    Firefox is very awesome.
     
    IE7 is also very awesome.
     
    Just stop saying that IE7 sucks. Ok? Because it doesn\’t. This post was just saying that IE7 is not bad at all. There.

  10. "My point is, is that they\’re both good, ok?
    Firefox is very awesome.
    IE7 is also very awesome. "
    Changing your mind now kiddie?
    What\’s with your previous arguments then?

  11. "Just stop saying that IE7 sucks. Ok? Because it doesn\’t. This post was just saying that IE7 is not bad at all."

    Really. Yeah. Right. Good. Again, keep telling yourself that.

  12. @wox : Sigh. You don\’t give up, do you?
     
    There are tons of free IE7 add-ons out there :
     
    http://www.wired.com/software/softwarereviews/news/2007/02/72777
    http://blogs.msdn.com/ie/archive/2006/10/20/must-have-add-ons-for-ie7.aspx
    http://www.windowsmarketplace.com/category.aspx?bcatid=3500
    http://search.live.com/results.aspx?q=free+ie7+add-ons&form=QBRE
     
    I did no such thing with extra accounts or whatever. I was just asking what people thought was the best browser, and amazingly, somebody read my blog. What a coincidence. I was quite amazed by that myself.
     
    My argument was that IE7 does not "suck". You kept insisting that. Firefox is a good browser. I just don\’t personally see it as good as IE7, but that\’s an opinion.
     
    So whatever.
     
     

  13. lol you still trying to cover up.. tell you what.. you are such a bad liar.  Need more practice!"and amazingly, somebody read my blog. What a coincidence. I was quite amazed by that myself" -Michael"Check out my blog post on this, that will help you much more than this" – quik boyCome on buddy, your lie sounds fake enough.  I\’m not THAT stupid.

  14. In addition to the simple fact I just posted..your writings (regarding quik boy\’s comments) are amazingly similar.  Again, I\’m not THAT stupid!See, you are the only guy on QnA that uses @*username* when you "talk".Practice makes perfect!  Consider this your first try!  Hopefully you\’ll do better next time!

  15. Wox : Um, try going to several comment sections of popular sites.
     
    Sometimes, you may need to refer to a specific user out of a whole bunch, and identify the person with their username first is much more direct. Many people do this, and it\’s quite common as well. Nothing new at all.
     
    2nd: Are you stalking me? Like I\’ve said already, I\’m not quik boy at all. I have much better things to do than to pretend I\’m someone that I\’m not. I actually HAVE a life. Can\’t say the same for you buddy, who \’attempts\’ at digging into nothing.
     
    Some users actually know proper English, and say it very well in web talk. So whatever. It\’s not like I\’m foreign. I live in America, and speak the same way as everyone else.
     
    Lay it off, or I\’ll take off several of your comments.

  16. Eh.. you got brain damage or something?  Or are you born like that?"Sometimes,
    you may need to refer to a specific user out of a whole bunch, and
    identify the person with their username first is much more direct. Many
    people do this, and it\’s quite common as well. Nothing new at all."I know that…But why would you use that when I\’m the only one commenting, both here (well of course except Albert) and at QnA?  I\’m the first one commenting one your (or, as you say, not mine, Quik Boy\’s) answer.
     
    "Are you stalking me?"Why would I.. why would anyone.."Like I\’ve said already, I\’m not quik boy
    at all."Proof son?  Unlike you, I actually supported my point."I have much better things to do than to pretend I\’m someone
    that I\’m not. I actually HAVE a life. Can\’t say the same for you buddy,
    who \’attempts\’ at digging into nothing."Oh so you have a life?  You call THAT a life?  Blogging about Microsoft, asking a question that has been asked many times before, making different accounts, and trying to say that you\’re not?You are one bad liar.  If you\’re gonna lie, cheat, and be a scum, at least be a good scum.  Not like THIS.
     
    "Some users actually know proper English, and say it very well in
    web talk. So whatever. It\’s not like I\’m foreign. I live in America,
    and speak the same way as everyone else."I know proper English you idiot.. and just because users use the same language, it doesn\’t mean that someone\’s writing doesn\’t stand out.  It\’s quite easy to tell- especially yours.Keep up that lame stuff of yours.  Quoting you, "I\’m still valid in many of my points."

  17. Well you know what Michael.. I\’m tired of this as well.  Simply wastes too much time.Don\’t worry, you probably would never see another comment on your blog (or as MS would like to call it, "Space") from me.So this is my last one.  I\’m only countering some.Better RSS reader
    – no doubt about it. The feeds in IE7 actually display a lot of info on
    new blog entries, including the title, the post itself, and you even
    search from within the feeds. Firefox only displays the title. Lifehacker agrees.Again, there\’s this amazing feature that makes Firefox stand on top of everything else- "customizability".  Thousands of free add-ons that would make Firefox rock your socks.  What if I don\’t like IE7\’s built-in RSS reader?  I\’ll have to suck it.  What if I don\’t like Firefox\’s?  I\’ll get one I like. More compatible with sites
    – This is true. IE is still very compatible with sites, and I
    appreciate that. Other browsers face the fact that sites won\’t work on
    their browser sometimes.This is true, but 99% of the websites are compatible with Firefox, except ones that I never touch.  If I really need to visit one, there\’s always IETab (Google it.)Speedy – compared to Firefox, IE7 is definitely speedy. Here\’s my rank on fast browsers: Opera > IE7 > Safari > Firefox.IE7 is "speedy", but that makes almost no difference on modern hardware.  In fact, I find IE7 agonizingly slow.  Its tendency to freeze and crash whenever something other than plain HTML comes up.Better tabbed browsing
    – IE7 takes tabs much more further than Firefox. You can do more with
    tabs in one click, while Firefox takes more mouse movements. There\’s
    also Quick Tabs – viewing a small "snapshot" of all your tabs. PLUS,
    many tabs on Firefox really slows the browser down (hence the Memory
    Hog reference). IE7 still manages many tabs without a hitch.Firefox doesn\’t slow down whenever a new tab is created.  Can\’t say the same for IE7 :)Plus, there\’s always add-ons, for example TabMixPlus.  Google it..What if I don\’t like IE7\’s tabbing (which I don\’t)?  I\’ll have to, again, suck it.  What if I don\’t like Firefox\’s?  I\’ll install TabMixPlus, or whatever I want."Also check out Firefox myths : http://firefoxmyths.com/ – this site gives some real factual info. on the Firefox people think is so better."Check out these links-http://preview.tinyurl.com/32gtt6- you might want to read the comments, for example:"The author of that page wants to protect his copyright, but he
    apparently uses a modified SpreadFirefox button on a page mostly
    against Firefox. Isn’t it a violation of the Mozilla Trademark Policy?" -Matt "I believe that author has a personal grudge against Firefox, or else he
    wouldn’t be so adamant against it in his stance. As for the Web
    standards, if he would have looked at the bottom of his source, he would have found that IE performed worst in (x)HTML, CSS and DOM than either Fx or Opera. Besides, when you quoted about “XHTML 1.0 changes”, it was apparantly using HTML 4.01 as the base above, which showed IE holding up worse than Fx to begin with." -ffridlundhttp://preview.tinyurl.com/99kjqhttp://preview.tinyurl.com/mt8cxhttp://preview.tinyurl.com/2t2g7lhttp://preview.tinyurl.com/2u5vreI would never visit this blog again, so of course I wouldn\’t read your reply.So yeah.

  18. @wox : Simply, just in case there\’s several comments that appear on a post, it\’s faster to say DIRECTLY to who you want, and grabs that person\’s attention.
     
    Only a stalker, or someone that crazy would bother following off of other people\’s comments.
     
    I am not a bad scum, and I don\’t know what you\’re talking about. I only blog once in awhile these days. I have real work to do, friends, and other higher priorities.
     
    And many users may have a similar voice, believe it or not.

  19. @wox : Like I said, there\’s ton of free add-on available at the IE7 add-ons site. Just like Firefox, I don\’t actually have to "suck it" if I don\’t like it.
     
    http://www.windowsmarketplace.com/category.aspx?bcatid=3500
     
    And you can disable IE7 stuff if you don\’t like it in tools.
     
    And those links might as well be considered invalid, because those are just as subjective to the blogger, PLUS those are really outdated links! This ain\’t 2005 anymore.

Leave a Reply

