Do you prefer tagging or categorizing? Or both?

There are two ways to organize your blog posts. Either by tagging them, or categorizing them.

When you tag posts, you give a post several keywords that you think you find fit to label it as.

When you categorize posts, you put a bunch of posts that are similar, and put them in one group, otherwise called, category.

So which one do you prefer?

I really like tagging more, because it’s very flexible, and it can give unique attributes to individual posts, instead of clumping them in clusters that can’t overlap. Tagging also lets you add more organization, by allowing you to claim more than one meaning for each post.

Categorizing is fine for me, when you might want to separate some of the posts, because some posts might have a special entry that need to be place in a special group/category. Or it’s just easier to sort through posts with enough similar characteristics.

Live Spaces, however, only supports categorizing. It’s said that tagging is a prominent web 2.0 technology. So, I’d really think that should be included in Live Spaces blog posts. But a mixture of both would be great.

I could split some of my post off into different groups, and then assign different tags to each. Now, if only the search feature in Live Spaces were actually useful, I could search through my whole blog for posts with my special tags, OR I could search for related tags in a particular group/category instead, to narrow down my results.

I’ve notice some peoples’ blog posts lately include something called Windows Live Tags.

                                     

                                     

Anyone have any idea what they are? Is it an upcoming tagging system for Live Spaces? And other blog sites? All the tags direct me to Windows Live Home for some reason. I’d like details please.

So what do you prefer : tagging, categorizing, or both?

6 thoughts on “Do you prefer tagging or categorizing? Or both?

  1. Michael,
    You\’ll know more about what the tags are for on 4th August 😉
     
    As I think you know I want tags…not categories. I\’ve complained fairly loudly about this. Categories are too restrictive; for example I recently wrote a post on Zune and Mesh. Do i put that into my Zune category or my Mesh category? I don\’t want to have to choose, I want to put it in both.
     
    Bring on tagging. Please.
     
    -Jamie

  2. My blog is pretty general, so I tend to prefer categories, even though everything winds up in the "Computers and Internet" category. I rarely use tags.

  3. I am not really a big fan of quoting Wikipedia but:

    A tag is a non-hierarchical keyword or term assigned to a piece of information (such as an internet bookmark, digital image, or computer file). This kind of metadata helps describe an item and allows it to be found again by browsing or searching. Tags are chosen informally and personally by the item\’s creator or by its viewer, depending on the system. On a website in which many users tag many items, this collection of tags becomes a folksonomy.
    Tagging was popularized by websites associated with Web 2.0 and is an important feature of many Web 2.0 services. It is now also part of some desktop software.
     

  4. Posted a comment to your comment back on my post, but wanted to chime in on this here as well. 
     
    Tags are definitely the more widely used thing and more in the direction we want to go.  Categories are still useful inside Spaces and for building categorized RSS feeds.
     
    Use of one doesn\’t preclude the use of the other, however.  So feel free to tag and categorize as much as you want!
     
    Thanks,
    Marcus

  5. Tagging!! I don\’t have a particular specification for each of my posts, so I need the flexibility.
     
    Categories are ok. But there definitely needs to be a tagging option.

  6. Umm, a combination of both. Tagging can carry over into many different topics that are unrelated, while categorizing helps you keep different posts from meshing all together. For example, I can tag the following articles with "Bill Gates" while keep one under the "Microsoft" category and another in the "Philanthropy" category: "Bill Gates donates more money to libraries" and "Bill Gates misses Microsoft." I personally didn\’t know we could tag Spaces posrts, how do you do it? Windows Live Writer?

Leave a Reply

